Author Event - Edoardo Albert & Paul Gething

19 Oct 2019

A Life of War in Anglo-Saxon Britain...1400 years, 206 bones, 1 extraordinary story...

We are joined by the joint authors of ‘Warrior’ in which historian Eduardo Albert brings to life the story of a skeleton uncovered in an Anglo-Saxon graveyard by Paul Gething, lead archaeologist on the Bamburgh Castle dig.

Tickets:
Standard: £7
Including book: £23
Couple including book: £27

Book now

Stokes Café will provide a bar for pre-event drinks. Tickets are non-refundable unless event is postponed/cancelled by Lindum Books.

WARRIOR
A Life of War in Anglo-Saxon Britain

Historian Edoardo Albert brings the story of these bones to life, telling the explosive true tale of this nameless warrior and the bloody life he led. It is the story of a violent time when Britain was defining itself in waves of religious fervour, scattered tribal expansion and terrible bloodshed; it is the story of the fighting class, defined in life and death by their experiences on the killing field; it is an intricate and riveting narrative of survival and adaptation set in the stunning political and physical landscapes of medieval England. From the unique sword our warrior held, to what he ate, where he travelled, and his motivations for doing so, this is the first time we have been able to tell a tale as fully as this.

As gripping as the novels of Bernard Cornwell and as fascinating as the history books of Lucy Worsley, this is perfect for fans of Time Team and the Detectorists, and anyone with an appetite for stories of the British past, of how we came to be, and who we really are.

'Imaginatively constructed within a story of love and hate, war and peace, Christianity and paganism, scientific insights and intuitive guesswork, the authors paint a vivid picture of the wider world surrounding northern England some thirteen hundred years ago’
Ian Ralston, Professor of Archaeology at Edinburgh University and author of The Archaeology of Britain.

Edoardo Albert has published over ten books on subjects as diverse as history, historical fiction, travel and cycling. He has written features for outlets including the Sunday Times, History Today and Time Out. He lives in London.

Paul Gething is the lead archaeologist at the Bamburgh Castle dig. He has written for History, Current Archaeology, The Great Outdoors and Time Out. He is also interested in experimental work (smelting, blade-smithing and jewellery making techniques). He lives in York.